

TO:	Departments, Principal Investigators, and Academic Advisors in the
	Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and the Whiting School of Engineering

FROM:

T.E. Schlesinger, Dean, Whiting School of Engineering Touldary Beverly Wendland, Dean, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences Beverly Wendland

DATE: October 30, 2015

SUBJECT: 2016 Dean's Safety Award

The Krieger School of Arts & Sciences and the Whiting School of Engineering are pleased to announce the inaugural 2016 awards competition for the Dean's Safety Award. This award is given to one undergraduate or graduate student (or a group of students) from each school who has gone well above and beyond what is required for improving the safety of a lab or department or a core facility. Award criteria include:

- 1. The awardee is one or more *graduate or undergraduate student*, full- or part-time. Faculty, staff, and postdoctoral fellows are not eligible.
- 2. The student must have, between March 16, 2015 and March 15, 2016, identified and implemented a significant improvement in laboratory experimentation or management in his/her research group or department that either goes well beyond required safety precautions to reduce risk, or involves a creative application of the "equivalent safety" concept.*
- 3. The student must, through the same *safety* improvement, *markedly improve the* scientific performance of the experiment, equipment, or departmental facility to which it is applied. This means that it must significantly improve (in the judgment of the awards committee) the ability of the experiment, equipment, or facility to meet its scientific objectives. Examples would be: providing more accurate and/or precise results than former methods, improving the selectivity of a chemical synthesis, enhancing the ability of the experiment to distinguish between different results, simplifying the operation so that it may be performed by less-skilled personnel, etc.
- 4. Improvements that merely bring the lab or department into compliance with law, *regulation, or university policy* are **not** eligible.

^{* &}quot;Equivalent safety" is the idea that in the event a safety requirement or generally-accepted good practice is impractical, alternative measures may be taken provided that they accomplish an **equivalent** risk reduction. The reduction need not be in exactly the same area, but the aggregate risk to the researcher, others, and the environment must be maintained or reduced.

The award consists of:

- A certificate memorializing the award;
- An honorarium of \$500; and
- Presentation of the award at a departmental seminar toward the end of Spring Semester 2016.

This award is intended to encourage students to connect improvements in safety with improvements in science, reinforcing the idea that **safe science is good science**.

Nominations may be made **only** by the student's principal investigator, other academic adviser, or department head. No department or research group may nominate more than one student. Groups of students who collaborated on a single safety & science improvement project may be nominated; should the team win the award, the \$500 honorarium will be divided evenly among awardees from that school.

Nominations shall include the student's name and JHED ID; PI's, adviser's, or department chair's name and JHED ID; department; and a complete narrative explanation of how the student's innovations meet the criteria above. For groups of students, please provide the above information for each student, department, and PI. Submit nominations to Dr. Daniel Kuespert, Homewood Laboratory Safety Advocate, at <u>dkuespert@jhu.edu</u>. Nominations must be received by **March 15, 2016** and are limited to four pages or fewer each.

Nominations will be evaluated by a committee consisting of one faculty member, chosen from the Homewood Safety Committee, and one student member from each school, chosen from the Homewood Student Safety Committee plus Dr. Kuespert as chair. Typically, one winner will be selected from each school. The awards committee may opt not to make an award in one or both schools if in its collective opinion, no nomination fully meeting the award criteria is submitted.

Questions should be directed to Dr. Kuespert.